Beginning the novel was particularly difficult, as I had promised myself that I would never jump on that bandwagon, that I'm just not the bandwagon type of girl. But I was initially surprised by the moderately well-written style of Stephanie Meyer. While her prose is nowhere near mind-blowing, it isn't awful for young adult literature. It could always be worse. I tried to allow myself to get lost in the story, strip myself of the critical lens I am so used to implementing. And for a while I felt how most women must feel; almost giddy with anticipation. When would Edward notice her? Why was he so mean? Did that secretly mean he liked her, even liked liked her? Then I realized I was acting foolish, and decided I should be true to myself, the cynical, overly-analytical critic that I am.
Let's talk about the scene in which Bella nearly fainted at the mention of blood. Keep in mind that she didn't actually lose any blood herself, just the idea of losing a few droplets made her woozy. Am I supposed to empathize with someone that pathetic? And then, to top it off, this weakness required not one, but two men to save her. Alright Twilight, let's instill patriarchal values in young girls, and remind them that they are unable to fend for themselves. Be like Bella and cook dinner every night and the big strong men will take care of you. That's what gets me. A seventeen year old actually knows how to cook intense meals? Okay, so let's try to believe that's true. But then her dad doesn't even stay around to wash the dishes, he just goes back to watch the TV while she handles the after dinner clean up. And this goes on every night. Maybe in a few years Edward will come around and settle on a bride price for Bella. I mean, that must be what she wants, fantasizing over the details of Jane Austen novels. The whole thing makes me sick. More than fifty years of work correcting the oppressive status imparted on women, and this novel comes around and glorifies the dichotomy between men and women that places men on the top of the hierarchy.
I guess it's safe to say that I didn't like Twilight. Sorry, I tried.
Don't worry dear, we are allowed to have opinions:) I agree that the whole fainting-over-blood thing is just ridiculous, and I realize now why it was excluded from the movie. Bella goes from passing out and turning green in merely the presence of blood to asking to be turned into something that must drink blood to survive. What an idiot. Her hormones have surpassed logic in many respects. I do enjoy Stephenie Meyer's writing stile for the most part, however.
ReplyDeleteSarah you bringing up the movie reminds me of how it really has shifted from the first movie into the later movies in attempting to make Bella a stronger character and take out the blatant weakness she shows in the novel.
ReplyDelete